4 ways to forget or delete a network in Windows 10 (WiFi)

When you connect to broadcasting or even to a hidden WiFi network in Windows 10, the operating system creates a profile for that connection, in which it stores information like its SSID (the name of the network) and its security details (like the password and the encryption that it uses). However, what if you decide you do not want your PC or device to remember a particular wireless network? In such a situation, you have to delete its network profile and forget the network. In this guide we show you how to do that:

NOTE: The screenshots used in this article are from Windows 10 with Fall Creators Update. Windows 10 Fall Creators Update is available for free, for all Windows 10 users, starting on October 17th, 2017.

Method 1. How to forget a network in Windows 10, using the Settings app

To forget a network in Windows 10, you can use the Settings app. To begin, open the Settings by clicking (or tapping, if you have a touchscreen) on its shortcut from the Start Menu, or by using any of the methods that we showed in this tutorial: 9 ways to open the Settings app in Windows 10.

Inside the Settings app, click or tap on "Network & Internet."

The second option from the left of the "Network & Internet" window is called Wi-Fi. Click or tap on it.

There is also an alternative way to get here, that is probably a bit faster. Click or tap the wireless network icon from the system tray and then choose the "Network & Internet settings (Change settings, such as making a connection metered)" link from the bottom of the networks list.

Then, on the right side of the Wi-Fi settings window, look for the settings section called Wi-Fi. It should be the first one you see. In it, click or tap "Manage known networks."

The "Manage known networks" settings section opens and you can see the complete list with all the Wi-Fi networks that your Windows 10 laptop or device knows.

Scroll through the list to find the wireless network that you want to delete or forget. If the list is too long, you can also search for that network by entering the its name (or just a part of it). Use the "Search this list" field. Once you find the Wi-Fi network that you want to forget, click or tap on its name.

This action makes Windows 10 display two options for that network: Properties and Forget. The Properties button opens a list with technical details about that Wi-Fi network. However, that is not what we are looking for. What we want is to delete the stored network profile and forget all its connection details. For that, you must click or tap the Forget button.

After you click (or tap) on the Forget button, Windows 10 immediately removes the wireless network from the list of known networks. If there are other networks that you want Windows 10 to forget, repeat this procedure. Otherwise, you can close the Settings app.

Method 2. How to forget a network in Windows 10, using the Wi-Fi menu from the system tray

There is an even faster way to forget a network in Windows 10, but it works only if you are already connected to that network, or at least you are in its range:

First, click or tap the Wi-Fi button from the system tray (or the notification area, if you prefer).

In the list of available Wi-Fi networks, locate the network that you want to forget. Remember, it can also be the wireless network that you are connected to at the present.

Right-click (or tap and hold) on the name of the network that you want to remove. Then, in the contextual menu that is shown, choose the Forget option.

That Wi-Fi network is immediately removed from the list of known networks. Fast… right?

Method 3. How to forget a network in Windows 10, using the Command Prompt

You can also remove a wireless network profile stored by Windows 10 with the help of the Command Prompt. Start by launching the Command Prompt as administrator. A fast way to open it is to enter the word cmd in Cortana's search field from the taskbar, then right-click or tap and hold on the Command Prompt search result. Finally click or tap on the "Run as administrator" option from the contextual menu.

Inside the Command Prompt window, type the following command: netsh wlan show profiles.

The above command displays all the wireless network profiles stored on your Windows 10 computer or device. The list can be long, if you have used your laptop or tablet for more than a couple of weeks, and you have connected to a lot of Wi-Fi networks in the meantime.

Identify the name of the wireless network profile you want to be removed, and then type the following command to remove it: netsh wlan delete profile name="Wi-Fi network name".

As an example, we wanted to remove a wireless network profile named "CNC Network", so we typed: netsh wlan delete profile name="CNC Network". In just an instant, Windows 10 tells you that that wireless network "Profile [...] is deleted [...]".

Feeling geeky, aren't you? :)

Method 4. How to forget all networks in Windows 10

In some situations, you may want to remove all the wireless network profiles known by your Windows 10 laptop or device. Luckily, you do not have to remove them one by one. That would be awful. Instead, all you have to do is to open the Command Prompt as administrator, just like you did in the previous section of this guide, and then type this command: netsh wlan delete profile name=* i=*.

Press Enter on your keyboard, and Windows 10 deletes all the network profiles in an instant. If you are connected to a Wi-Fi network, your computer or device disconnects from it and removes its profile.

NOTE: The netsh command has many other parameters besides the ones we shared in this article. If you want to learn more about it, we recommend you to read its documentation, which you can find here: Netsh Commands for Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN).

Conclusion

These are the methods that we know to forget WiFi networks from Windows 10 devices. We hope this guide is useful for you and, if you know other ways to delete network profiles in Windows 10, do not hesitate to share them with us, using the comments form below. We promise to update this article so that other people can also benefit from it.