Acer has priced its first Googlebook, the 14-inch GP714-91N, from $899 in North America. That is the lowest confirmed starting price of the five Googlebook launch models, and Acer's machine is the only one of them with a convertible hinge.

Acer undercuts Dell's confirmed $999 by $100, HP's $1,199.99 by $300 and the ASUS Googlebook 14's $1,299.99 by $400.
One number in Acer's own announcement does not line up with Intel's. Acer advertises an NPU rated at "up to 50 TOPS," while Intel's spec pages for the two exact chips Acer lists stop short of that figure.
Acer Googlebook 14 specifications
According to Acer's press release, the Googlebook 14 uses a 14-inch OLED touch panel at 2880 by 1800 in 16:10, rated at 500 nits and 100 percent DCI-P3. It adds Gorilla Glass, DisplayHDR True Black certification and USI 2.0 stylus support. Acer does not state a refresh rate.
Configurations go up to 32GB of LPDDR5X and a 512GB PCIe Gen 4 SSD. The aluminium-magnesium chassis in Elemental Blue is 13.9mm thick and weighs 1.14 kg, or 2.51 lbs.
Acer rates the 71Wh battery at up to 16 hours of web browsing and 14 hours of local video. Fast charging is quoted at 50 percent in 30 minutes and 80 percent in an hour.
Ports are one Thunderbolt 4, two USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C at 10Gbps, plus a 3.5mm jack. Networking is Intel Wi-Fi 7 R2 BE211 and Bluetooth 6.0.
The 360-degree hinge is rated for 20,000 open and close cycles, and the chassis holds MIL-STD 810H certification. Security covers a fingerprint reader in the power button, a webcam privacy shutter and Google's Titan-C chip.
A "Glowbar" on the lid signals battery status by color. Acer bundles 12 months of Google AI Pro and 5TB of cloud storage, which it values at $239.88.

The 50 TOPS claim versus Intel's own figures
Acer offers the Googlebook 14 with the Intel Core Ultra 7 355 or the Core Ultra 5 325, and describes both as carrying an NPU of "up to 50 TOPS". Intel's published figures come in below that.
Intel's page for the Core Ultra 7 355 lists NPU peak performance at 49 TOPS in Int8. The page for the Core Ultra 5 325 lists 47 TOPS.
Neither of the two chips Acer names reaches 50 on Intel's own sheet. Acer's release does not explain how it arrives at the rounder number.
The rest of the silicon is shared. Both are Panther Lake parts built on Intel 18A, with eight cores, eight threads, 12MB of cache and a 25W base power. Intel rates the integrated graphics in both at 40 TOPS.
That makes Acer the cheapest way into Intel-powered Googlebook hardware so far, since Dell and HP went with Qualcomm's Snapdragon X Elite instead.
How the Acer Googlebook 14 compares with the rest of the line-up
Every figure below comes from the maker's own announcement, except Lenovo's. No Lenovo press release for the Googlebook 15 could be located. Its price has only been reported, from roughly $1,099 to $1,349 by configuration.
| Model | Starting price | Display | Processor | Weight | Claimed battery |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acer Googlebook 14 | $899 | 14-inch OLED, 2880x1800, 500 nits | Core Ultra 7 355 or Ultra 5 325 | 1.14 kg | Up to 16 hours |
| Dell XPS Googlebook | $999 | 13-inch 2.5K, 30 to 120Hz, 500 nits | Snapdragon X Elite | 1.0 kg | Up to 16 hours |
| HP Googlebook 14 | $1,199.99 | 3K OLED, up to 120Hz variable | Snapdragon X Elite | Not stated | Up to 19 hours |
| ASUS Googlebook 14 | $1,299.99 | 14-inch OLED, 2880x1800, 120Hz, 1000 nits | Core Ultra 5 325 | 0.99 kg | Up to 18 hours |
| Lenovo Googlebook 15 | Reported $1,099 to $1,349 | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
ASUS charges $400 more but claims 120Hz and 1000-nit peak brightness, neither of which Acer quotes. Its machine is also lighter, at 0.99 kg.
HP claims the longest battery life at up to 19 hours and the thinnest body at 10.91mm. Dell's XPS Googlebook is the only 13-inch model.
None of the four rivals converts into a tablet. Acer's model folds into clamshell, tent, stand and tablet modes. Earlier coverage of the Lenovo Googlebook 15 pointed to a conventional clamshell too.
What Acer has not confirmed
Acer commits only to "October 2026" for North America, with no calendar day attached. EMEA is also given as October 2026 from EUR 1,199, and Australia as November 2026 from AUD 2,599, all described as limited-time offers.
Acer's own store page for this SKU could not be reached at the time of writing, so any configuration listed only there stays unverified. The release names the ports but not which side each sits on.
One naming detail is worth watching. Acer's spec sheet calls the operating system "Googlebook OS," a term that does not appear in Google's own announcement, which calls the platform a merger of Android and ChromeOS. Google gives availability only as "this fall". That leaves the naming unsettled for anyone weighing this against the current Chromebook lineup, and launch pricing sold as a limited-time offer can change. Figures here were checked on September 22, 2026.



Discussion (0)
Be the first to comment.